WS100 report

Monkeyboy had a great race in spite of the intense sun and heat. It got up to 104 at the finish line and was a little hotter than that at the Rucky Chucky river crossing. I personally would’ve died.

He finished an amazing 11th place on the day (12th overall), coming in under 19 hours (408 people raced). This is not much of a report, I’ll leave that for him to write and I’ll just link to it. I truly don’t even know what to say. I feel like a wuss for being tired just crewing for him. I’m amazed at ultra-runners. Simply put, they don’t get to coast. That’s just nuts. Respect.

Ultra-running is a different world, it was an eye-opener for me. I had an awesome time crewing and getting to know some cool new people. This town I now call home comes alive in a way I haven’t seen since moving here 8 months ago…pretty cool to see how much this one historical route defines this area and the people that come here to live & inspires some to race. Two other events utilize this or a similar route (Tevis Cup equestrian race, Tahoe Sierra 100 mountain bike race) on the Western States trail that took the early settlers from the Sierras into the Gold Country of the foothills surrounding Auburn.

Here’s a few pics from the day.

Leave a Reply

