MC#7 – cyclocross frame

I’ve started the front triangle of a 54cm cross frame (and fork). It’s a dead-on copy of the old ‘stock’ Indy-Fab Planet Cross frame.  I’m of the opinion that they just got it right on these old frames…even for a gorilla like me the 56cm was nearly a perfect fit.  Longer than tall with rather large head tubes and a high-ish bottom bracket (57mm BB drop) is the gist of their geometry, so the 54cm frame has a 54cm seat tube length (center to center) and an effective top tube length of 57.5 cm. There’s a slight sloping top tube (around 3 deg) but with a head tube of 150mm it’s a big triangle to flop onto your shoulder.  It’s going to be Heyride’s race bike and weekly Steel*Wool ride so he wanted no bottle braze-ons, top-routed cables, a chain hanger on the chainstay, and 130mm rear axle spacing.  A bottle opener was requested too but not sure where I’ll incorporate that one…

I found some sweet Ritchey slotted dropouts from Ceeway so I’ll use them instead of Paragon’s for this build. I usually try to go all US parts but just starting out Paragon can be quite expensive! I’m also not certain I like what they offer for cross use.  Anyways, here’s one shot of the front triangle all mitered up. I’m using Brother Wolfe’s custom head tube that is spun down from 37mm at the ends in a smooth transition to around 36mm in the middle to save a little weight and add a nice aesthetic to the tube.

Leave a Reply

