2nd Pass

Yesterday, I did a 2nd pass with the pulser and got some good results (for me).  I think it looks pretty good!  I definitely have to work on getting the puddle going faster and moving along the joint but all in time.  The biggest thing with framebuilding I’ve had to learn is PATIENCE. The more you have, the more it pays off in the end.

The heatsinks helped a lot…i reamed the ST/HT and BB and didn’t have to put much effort at all into those.  Much less than my frame I made in Kopp’s class.  I think we burned through his ST reamer with my seattube alone!

The brazons went well…learned a lot about heat control in a short time. I wasted too much silver on the cable guides, but by the time I got to the disc brake cable brazons I was feeling the groove and seeing when to add the rod…and it slinked in there like butter on a little chocolate donut.  I am starting to ‘get it’, at least for silver brazing, which seems relatively easy it seems compared to fillet brazing with brass.  I still have to brass braze the rear dropouts to the stays but I’m waiting for some supplies from Hank.  Other than that this frame and fork is done!  To explain, yes, I should’ve brazed the rear drop outs on LONG ago, but I tig-tacked them to the stays and thought I’d be able to silver braze them on…or not.  The Paragon drops I’m using are not stainless (like the sliding drops) and that’s a good thing right now since my practice brazing went very poorly – i must’ve wasted $50 in silver in less than 10 minutes…seriously.  Filling big gaps with silver is harder than I thought!  Silver rod is extremely expensive right now, so it’s not a good time to learn.

Rear brazons.

Water bottle brazons. The diamond plates make it look so cool!

BB got some heat, but good penetration and very little distortion thanks to that Paragon heatsink!

The final headtube. The weld on the right is my best ever. Yeah, they're pretty big beads so I still have more training to do.

Seat tube finished. I did a 2nd pass on the HT/ST junction but not on the wishbone seatstay cause I nailed it the first time.

Fatty fits fine...and centered! I didn't even crimp the stays much at all.

Yesterday, I did a 2nd pass with the pulser and got some good results (for me).  I think it looks pretty good!  The heatsinks helped a lot…i reamed the ST/HT and BB and didn’t have to put much effort at all into those.  Much less than my frame I made in Kopp’s class.  I think we burned through his ST reamer with my seattube alone!

The brazons went well! I wasted too much heat and silver on the first ones but by the last ones I was feeling the groove and seeing when to add the rod.  I am starting to ‘get it’, at least for the silver brazing which is relatively easy it seems compared to fillet brazing.  I still have to brass braze the rear dropouts, waiting for some supplies from Hank, but other than that it is done! To explain, yes, I should’ve brazed the rear drop outs long ago, but I tig-tacked them to the stays and thought I’d be able to silver braze them on.  The Paragon drops I’m using are not stainless (like the sliding drops) and that’s a good thing right now since my practice brazing went very poorly – i must’ve wasted $50 in silver in less than 10 minutes…seriously.  Filling big gaps with silver is harder than I thought!

Leave a Reply

